Hanen More Than Words program for autism in Ontario

The Hanen More Than Words program teaches parents of autistic children under 5 strategies to promote communication. Learn about evidence, access, and cost in Ontario.

Direct answer

Hanen More Than Words is an evidence-based parent training program designed for caregivers of children under 5 with autism or social communication difficulties. Developed by the Hanen Centre in Toronto, the program runs 8 small-group sessions plus 3 individual video coaching sessions with a Hanen SLP. Research by Carter et al. (2011) studied its effect on parent responsiveness and child communication. In Ontario, More Than Words is offered through children's treatment centres and private SLPs; ask each provider about fees.

Page checked · Sources

Why Timing Matters

The wait outlasts the window.

Clinical research (American Academy of Pediatrics; Hyman et al., Pediatrics 2020) identifies birth to age six as the peak neuroplasticity window for autism intervention. Ontario's reported minimum wait is 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026).

Illustration using 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

Example: an illustrative child's journey through the Ontario Autism Program

Registered at age 3. Services begin at age 8, after 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026), most of it inside the intervention window.

Early-intervention windowPeak neuroplasticity period (AAP)
Example childRegistered at 3, services at 8
5 years waiting
Age 6
Past age 6when services begin in this example
Registeredage 3
Services beginage 8
012345678
Child's age (years)
Example: early-intervention window vs. Ontario child journey
MeasureAge range
Early-intervention window (AAP)Birth to age 6
Example wait using the OAC-reported minimum (registered age 3)Age 3 to age 8 (5 years)
Age when services begin in this examplePast age 6

✓ Intervention before 6

Research shows 2× greater gains in cognitive and adaptive functioning. Some children lose their diagnosis entirely. The brain's plasticity makes early therapy dramatically more effective.

◌ Intervention after 6

Reduced neuroplasticity means slower progress, higher lifetime costs, and poorer outcomes. Every year of delay narrows the range of achievable milestones. Ontario's waitlist guarantees this for most families.

Of the 71,263 children on the unfunded backlog, the majority were registered between ages 2 and 4. At the current pace, most will age past 6 before receiving any core funding , missing the window that the American Academy of Pediatrics and every major autism research body identifies as critical.

SourceAmerican Academy of Pediatrics (Hyman et al., Pediatrics 2020) · Ontario MCCSS OAP data via FOI · Wait: 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026).

Hanen More Than Words program facts

Program details shown in the page record, with the source and verification date attached to each fact. Verified 2026-09-28.
Program detailPage recordSource
Program length8 group + 3 individual sessionsHanen Centre
Target ageUnder 5 yearsSource not specified for this page record
CostAsk each providerSource not specified for this page record
EvidenceRCT-studiedCarter et al. 2011

Hanen Centre, program, and access

What is the Hanen Centre?

The Hanen Centre and More Than Words are two different things, and the names get used as if they were one. The Hanen Centre is the organization. More Than Words is one of its programs.

The Hanen Centre is headquartered in Toronto. It developed More Than Words, and it trains and certifies speech-language pathologists across Ontario to deliver it. When a program is described as Hanen-certified, that refers to the training the SLP holds, not to a different program.

This matters when you are looking for a spot. You do not contact the Hanen Centre for therapy. You use its provider directory at hanen.org to find a certified speech-language pathologist near you, then contact that provider - most often a children's treatment centre, an EarlyON Child and Family Centre, a Preschool Speech and Language Program, or a private SLP practice.

It also matters for the coaching part of the program. The individual video coaching visits are delivered by a Hanen-certified SLP, who films you and your child interacting and then gives you feedback on what you did. That certification is what makes the feedback consistent with the program.

What is Hanen More Than Words?

More Than Words teaches parents research-based strategies to help their young autistic child communicate. The program covers: understanding how children communicate, creating communication opportunities, following the child's lead, using visual supports, and promoting social interaction during daily routines. Parents learn to identify their child's communication stage and adjust their interaction style accordingly.

The program uses a combination of group sessions (where parents learn strategies through discussion, video examples, and practice) and individual coaching visits (where a Hanen-certified SLP films the parent and child interacting, then provides personalized feedback). This blended format ensures strategies are tailored to each family's situation.

Accessing More Than Words in Ontario

The Hanen Centre, headquartered in Toronto, trains SLPs across Ontario to deliver More Than Words. Programs are available through: children's treatment centres (often free or low-cost), EarlyON Child and Family Centres, Preschool Speech and Language Programs, and private SLP practices. Wait times vary by provider, so ask about the next start date.

More Than Words is complementary to clinical therapies. Many families participate in Hanen programs while on the OAP core clinical waitlist, as the strategies immediately improve daily communication. The program may also be offered as an OAP foundational service in some regions. Contact your local children's treatment centre or Preschool Speech and Language Program to find upcoming sessions.

Frequently asked questions

It has been studied in a randomized controlled trial. Carter et al. (2011) tested More Than Words with toddlers with autism and their parents, looking at parent responsiveness and child communication.

More Than Words is a parent education program focused on communication strategies during natural interactions. ABA is a clinical therapy with structured teaching methods and data-driven goals. They complement each other well - Hanen builds a responsive communication environment at home, while ABA targets specific skill development.

Contact the Hanen Centre website (hanen.org) to find certified providers near you. Children's treatment centres, Preschool Speech and Language Programs, and private SLP practices across Ontario offer the program. Some regions offer it free through publicly funded programs.

Sources

  1. Research

    Carter et al. (2011), "A Randomized Controlled Trial of Hanen's More Than Words in Toddlers with ASD," Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, 52(7), 741-752

  2. Hanen Centre

    More Than Words: eight small-group sessions led by a Hanen SLP, plus three personalised video feedback sessions

    Checked

Parent coaching is available now, no waitlist

OAP Foundational Family Services include free parent coaching while you wait for funded Core Clinical Services.

Evidence for this answer

Watchdog Reports

  • [2024]
    Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services: Spending Plan Review
    Financial Accountability Office of Ontario (FAO) • Watchdog report • 2024-06-05

FOI Records

  • [2026]
    Ontario Autism Program figures as of May 13, 2026 (MCCSS, released under Freedom of Information to the Ontario Autism Coalition; published in the OAC "OAP At A Glance" update, July 2026)
    Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (Ontario), obtained by the Ontario Autism Coalition • FOI record • 2026-05-13

Commitment to Accuracy: Our data is verified against official government reports (FAO, MCCSS), peer-reviewed scientific literature, and accessible public records. Last updated: September 28, 2026.

Citable facts from this page(1)

How many children are on the Ontario autism waitlist in 2026?

As of May 13, 2026, 91,974 children are registered with the Ontario Autism Program. However, only 20,711 (22.5%) have an active Core Funding Agreement. This represents ~300% growth in registrations since 2019, with 71,263 children still waiting for essential funding.

Source: MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026 · Open source record

About this page

Check the author’s context, review method, and how to report an error.

Written by

Founder & Autism Advocate

Lived experience: Parent of autistic child navigating OAP system

Get the next FOI release before the news cycle does.