Ontario Autism Program 2026

OAP Wait Times in Ontario

71,263 children are registered with the Ontario Autism Program but have no active funding agreement. 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

How long is the OAP waitlist in Ontario?

5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026) The Ontario government does not publish an official average wait time for OAP Core Clinical Services.

The OAP Isn’t Improving: July 2026 update · MCCSS Ontario Autism Program figures, May 13, 2026, obtained by the Ontario Autism Coalition under Freedom of Information · Verified 2026-08-10

In brief

The Direct Answer

  • As of May 2026, 91,974 children are registered, 71,263 without an active Core Funding Agreement.
  • Only 22.5% of registered children hold an active Core Funding Agreement.
  • The critical early-intervention window (ages 2–6) passes for most children before funding arrives.

Current OAP Wait Time Data

Registration and funding counts come from MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026. The reported wait comes from Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026 (reported from community intake).

5+Reported wait, families registered in August 2021years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026) Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026 (reported from community intake). Ontario publishes no average wait. Verified 2026-08-10.

71,263Children without fundingRegistered but no active Core Funding Agreement (MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026, May 13, 2026)

22.5%Funded, of all registered20,711 children hold an active agreement (MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026, May 13, 2026)

Registered children and active agreements

Registered childrenActive Core Funding AgreementsChildren registered with the OAP and active Core Funding Agreements as of May 13, 2026; MCCSS figures released through the Ontario Autism Coalition FOI request.
May 202691,97420,711025,00050,00075,000100,000
Registered children compared with active Core Funding Agreements
SubjectRegistered childrenActive Core Funding Agreements
May 202691,97420,711

How Wait Times Have Grown

2019

~23,000

Children registered (approx. pre-reform baseline)

2023–24 FAO

70,176

Children registered (FAO report)

May 2026

91,974

Children registered (MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026)

+21,798 more children registered between the 2023–24 FAO baseline and May 2026, a 31% increase. CBC News documented a 21% registration jump since mid-2024 alone.

Wait Times by Age Group

5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026) No official figure predicts any one child's wait.

WHO Benchmark vs. Ontario Reality

The World Health Organization recommends timely, accessible early intervention beginning as early as possible after identification, with evidence showing the greatest gains occur before age 6.

  • WHO Recommendation — intervention should begin as early as possible after identification

    WHO Fact Sheet: Autism Spectrum Disorders (updated Sept. 17, 2025)

  • Ontario Reality — 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

    Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026 (reported from community intake); 71,263 children currently unfunded

  • The wait is counted from registration, not diagnosis

    5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

How OAP Wait Times Are Calculated

The Ontario government does not publish an official average wait time for OAP Core Clinical Services. 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026) It describes that reported context, not every family.

How long is the wait: reported, not published, estimated

Reported
Reported wait: 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026). The Ontario Autism Coalition reports that invitations are reaching families registered in August 2021. Ontario Autism Coalition
Not published
Ontario does not publish a province-wide average wait for Core Clinical Services, and the FOI progress reports do not contain one. What the FOI record counts
Estimated
Our regional wait estimator is a model built from that one reported figure. It is not a measured regional wait. OAP wait estimator

What “waitlist” means

What “waitlist” means
A child on the OAP waitlist is registered with AccessOAP but does not yet have a signed Core Funding Agreement. Registration is date-stamped, and families are contacted for funding in registration-date order as capacity allows.
Current OAP count
As of May 2026, 91,974 children are registered; 71,263 do not yet have an agreement.

Why the number keeps growing

New registrations consistently outpace new funding agreements. CBC News documented that in a single two-week period in summer 2025, 456 new children registered while 151 fewer children held funded agreements, a net worsening of 607 children in 14 days.

~918/month

New registrations

~11/month

Additional active funding agreements

Net result: approximately 907 additional unfunded children each month, measured across the OAP progress reports from Jan 7 to May 13, 2026(registrations vs. additional active agreements; CBC and OAC FOI data).

What “no interim funding” means

Families registered after April 1, 2021 receive zero provincial OAP money while they wait. There is no partial funding, no interim toolkit benefit, and OAP funding is not retroactive. Children who age out before receiving an offer receive nothing from the program despite being on the registry for years.

Why OAP waitlist numbers differ

These figures are not in conflict. They measure related groups at different times. The CBC and MCCSS figures come from the same report series, read on different dates. The OAC figure counts children waitlisted for core clinical support and does not state its data date, so it cannot be matched exactly to the others. The newest figure is 71,263 children without an active Core Funding Agreement as of May 13, 2026.

  • 71,263

    Registered children with no active Core Funding Agreement, out of 91,974 registered

    The newest figure. This is the number End The Wait Ontario uses.

    Data date: May 13, 2026. Published July 2026 by Ontario Autism Coalition (MCCSS progress report, released under FOI).

  • 88,175 registered, 20,666 with agreements

    Registered children, and those with a Core Funding Agreement

    An earlier reading of the same report series.

    Data date: January 7, 2026. Published March 2026 by CBC News (same MCCSS report series).

  • over 61,000

    Children and youth waitlisted for core clinical support

    Still shown on the OAC homepage. It predates the May 2026 figure.

    Data date: MCCSS data available in October 2025 (reporting date not stated). Published October 23, 2025 by Ontario Autism Coalition news release.

Download the full series as CSV: OAP data hub.

What Families Can Do While Waiting

OAP Core Clinical Services funding is unavailable while waiting. These options exist independently of OAP funding status.

School Board Entitlements

Ontario's education framework provides school supports based on identified student needs, separate from OAP funding status. Ask the principal in writing about the current IEP or IPRC process for your child.

  • • Individual Education Plan (IEP)
  • • Educational assistant support
  • • School-based speech and language therapy
  • • Occupational therapy referrals
  • • Autism-specific classroom placement
Find school resources

SSAH & Federal Benefits

Special Services at Home (SSAH) provides respite and personal development funding separately from OAP, apply through your regional MCCSS office.

  • • SSAH respite and skill-building funding
  • • Federal Disability Tax Credit (DTC)
  • • Child Disability Benefit (CDB)
  • • Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP)
  • • Canada Caregiver Credit
See data & resources

Community & Advocacy

Autism Ontario offers free membership and navigation support. Ontario Autism Coalition coordinates family advocacy and publishes FOI data.

  • • Autism Ontario parent groups
  • • OAC advocacy and alerts
  • • Recreational and social programs
  • • Peer support networks
Email your MPP (2 min)

Provider Directory

Some families access private therapy during the waiting period. Our provider directory lists registered behavioural therapists, speech-language pathologists, and OT practices across Ontario.

Private intensive ABA: hourly rates vary by provider and region, and intensive weekly schedules make annual costs substantial. Confirm current rates directly with providers.

Browse providers

Frequently Asked Questions

As of May 2026, 91,974 children are registered with the Ontario Autism Program. Of these, 71,263 are waiting without an active Core Funding Agreement, representing 77.5% of all registered children. 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

OAP wait times vary because the program serves children from diagnosis through age 17, but the critical early-intervention window is ages 2–6. Children who register at a young age face the greatest developmental risk from delays. Provider capacity and geography differ across Northern, Eastern, Central, and Western Ontario, but no region-level wait is published. 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

While waiting for Core Clinical Services, families registered with the OAP can access Foundational Family Services and may be eligible for urgent response services. These OAP supports are separate from Core Clinical Services.

The World Health Organization recommends accessible, affordable early interventions for children with autism, emphasizing that timely psychosocial interventions improve communication and social outcomes. 5+ years for families registered in August 2021 (community-reported, Ontario Autism Coalition, July 2026)

These figures are not in conflict. They measure related groups at different times. The CBC and MCCSS figures come from the same report series, read on different dates. The OAC figure counts children waitlisted for core clinical support and does not state its data date, so it cannot be matched exactly to the others. The newest figure is 71,263 children without an active Core Funding Agreement as of May 13, 2026. The Ontario Autism Coalition's "over 61,000" figure comes from its October 23, 2025 news release, before the May 2026 report.

The OAP waitlist has grown dramatically since the April 2019 program redesign. At that point approximately 23,000 children were registered. CBC News obtained 18 months of internal government progress reports showing registrations jumped 21% since mid-2024 alone; the most recent FOI figures reach 91,974 as of May 13, 2026 (MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026). The number of children with an active Core Funding Agreement (20,711) has grown far more slowly, meaning the gap between registered and funded children, now 71,263, has widened every year.

Help End the OAP Wait

71,263 children are waiting right now. The most effective action is contacting your MPP directly, elected officials respond to constituent pressure.

Guides and tools related to this page.

Sources on this page

The source chain stays visible.

Key claims are paired with their source, evidence tier, and verification date so readers can inspect the public record directly.

Facts4
Sources4

22.5%

Only 20,711 children have active funding agreements (22.5%), less than one in four

Primary sourceMCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026Verified 2026-08-10

WHO recommends accessible, community-based early interventions for children with autism. Timely evidence-based psychosocial interventions improve communication and social engagement

Primary sourceWorld Health Organization (2025)Verified 2025-09-17
Last system verification: 2026-08-10. Next scheduled update: 2026-11-05.

About this page

Check the author’s context, review method, and how to report an error.

Written by

Founder & Autism Advocate

Lived experience: Parent of autistic child navigating OAP system

Get the next FOI release before the news cycle does.