Ontario Autism Program (OAP)As of May 13, 2026
Government / FOIDirect answer
Ontario Autism Coalition FOI of MCCSS bi-weekly OAP progress reports · Verified 2026-08-10
What this number means
A place on a list. Not proof of care. The 71,263 figure is the difference between registrations and active Core Funding Agreements.
What it does not prove
The 71,263 figure is the difference between registrations and active Core Funding Agreements. It does not tell us whether someone receives other OAP supports, privately paid care, or services outside the program.
Registered does not mean funded.
Funded is not the same as served. Of every 100 children registered, approximately 78 have no active Core Funding Agreement. The progress report does not establish that any therapy took place.
Registered
91,974
May 2026
70,176
End of 2023-24 (FAO)
Enrolled in Core Clinical Services
24,417
May 2026
19,966
Feb 29, 2024 (FAO)
Active Core Funding Agreements
20,711
May 2026
Not reported
FAO counted enrolled children, not agreements
Without an active agreement
71,263
May 2026
Not reported
FAO counted enrolled children, not agreements
Two columns, two reports apart. The historical column shows the FAO’s registered count at the end of 2023-24 and its enrolled count as of February 29, 2024 (report published June 5, 2024); the FAO did not report active agreements, so those cells are blank. Current source: Ontario Autism Coalition FOI (May 13, 2026 OAP progress report).
One number. More than one kind of waiting.
What the record counts.
Open a line to read what it counts.
Registered with the OAPThe total administrative count91,974
A child or youth has an autism diagnosis and has registered with the Ontario Autism Program. Registration alone is not proof that a service has been received.
Active Core Funding Agreements22.5% of registrations20,711
A Core Funding Agreement is signed and in effect on the reporting date. The progress report does not establish that any therapy took place.
Without an active funding agreement77.5% of registered children and youth71,263
The 71,263 figure is the difference between registrations and active Core Funding Agreements. It does not tell us whether someone receives other OAP supports, privately paid care, or services outside the program.
Children awaiting diagnosis cannot yet register. Ontario does not publish a province-wide diagnostic waitlist, so this group cannot be added to the total.
Read the source definitionsWhy OAP waitlist numbers differ
These figures are not in conflict. They measure related groups at different times. The CBC and MCCSS figures come from the same report series, read on different dates. The OAC figure counts children waitlisted for core clinical support and does not state its data date, so it cannot be matched exactly to the others. The newest figure is 71,263 children without an active Core Funding Agreement as of May 13, 2026.
71,263
Registered children with no active Core Funding Agreement, out of 91,974 registered
The newest figure. This is the number End The Wait Ontario uses.
Data date: May 13, 2026. Published July 2026 by Ontario Autism Coalition (MCCSS progress report, released under FOI).
88,175 registered, 20,666 with agreements
Registered children, and those with a Core Funding Agreement
An earlier reading of the same report series.
Data date: January 7, 2026. Published March 2026 by CBC News (same MCCSS report series).
over 61,000
Children and youth waitlisted for core clinical support
Still shown on the OAC homepage. It predates the May 2026 figure.
Data date: MCCSS data available in October 2025 (reporting date not stated). Published October 23, 2025 by Ontario Autism Coalition news release.
Download the full series as CSV: OAP data hub.
Another wait comes first.
Children need an autism diagnosis before they can register. Freedom-of-information data obtained by The Trillium showed 6,113 children waiting at the five provincially funded diagnostic hubs at the end of 2022-23 (reported March 2024). That figure must not be extrapolated to Ontario.
Read The Trillium report6,113
children at five diagnostic hubs, end of 2022-23
The gaps in the record matter.
Ontario does not publish how many children aged out of the registered count without an active agreement. The source does not establish whether they received services before turning 18.
What the record leaves outNot published
children who aged out without an active agreement
How the calculation works.
Three figures from the May 13, 2026 release. No estimates. No modelling. Source: Ontario Autism Coalition FOI.
- 1
Total registered
91,974 children and youth were registered with the OAP.
- 2
Active agreements
20,711 had an active Core Funding Agreement.
- 3
Difference
71,263 were registered without an active agreement.
Explore the full data. See how registration and funding numbers have changed over time.
View waitlist dataThe full breakdown.
Current figures from the May 13, 2026 OAP progress report. The historical column shows the FAO’s 2023-24 figures; measures may differ between reports.
| Metric | May 2026 | 2023-24 (FAO) | Numerical difference | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total registered childrenChildren registered with the OAP on the reporting date (FAO: end of 2023-24) | 91,974 | 70,176 | +21,798 (31%) | Ontario Autism Coalition FOI; Financial Accountability Office of Ontario |
| Active Core Funding AgreementsSigned, active agreements on the reporting date | 20,711 | Not reported on the same basis | N/A | Ontario Autism Coalition FOI |
| Enrolled in Core Clinical ServicesEnrolled count reported by each source (FAO: as of February 29, 2024) | 24,417 | 19,966 | +4,451 | Ontario Autism Coalition FOI; Financial Accountability Office of Ontario |
| Registered without an active agreementDiagnosed, registered, waiting | 71,263 | Not reported on the same basis | N/A | Ontario Autism Coalition FOI |
| Funding rate% of registered children who are funded | 22.5% | Not reported on the same basis | N/A | Ontario Autism Coalition FOI |
| Monthly registration growthAverage new registrations/month (MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026) | ~918/mo | N/A | N/A | MCCSS progress reports |
| Estimated registered without an active agreement (Dec 2026)If current rates continue unchanged | ~77,612 | N/A | N/A | ETWO projection |
Sources: Ontario Autism Coalition FOI (May 13, 2026 OAP progress report); CBC News FOI investigation of the same bi-weekly series; Financial Accountability Office of Ontario 2023–24 Spending Plan Review; Ontario Autism Coalition FOI (December 2025).
Machine-readable OAP data, FOI-verified, May 2026.
What these numbers mean.
The Ontario Autism Program (OAP) is the provincial government's primary vehicle for delivering autism services to children under 18. Registration gives a family access to the queue for Core Clinical Funding, a direct payment that can be used to purchase Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) therapy, speech-language pathology, occupational therapy, and other evidence-based services.
The gap between "registered" and "having an active agreement" is a useful administrative signal, not a complete measure of service access. As of May 13, 2026, 71,263 children (77.5%) were registered without an active Core Funding Agreement. The report does not establish whether a person receives another OAP support, privately paid care, or services outside the program.
For the current source notes and definitions, see the methodology and source definitions.
How the Waitlist Grew
Before the 2019 OAP redesign, Ontario's 2019 Budget put approximately 23,000 children on the autism waitlist. The 2019 reform changed the program structure, eliminated the former Intensive Behavioural Intervention (IBI) tier, and opened a new Core Funding Agreement pathway intended to reduce wait times. By May 2026, 91,974 children were registered. That 2019 figure counts waitlisted children and the 2026 figure counts all registered children, so one cannot be divided by the other. The Financial Accountability Office's comparable count for 2018-19 was an average of 24,924 children waiting and 10,365 receiving services.
CBC News, using FOI data covering 18 months of bi-weekly OAP progress reports (June 2024 through January 2026), documented that the waitlist jumped approximately 21% since mid-2024 alone. During one two-week period last summer, the number of funded children dropped by 151 while 456 new children registered, a net addition of over 600 to the unfunded group in a single reporting period.
What "Registered but Unfunded" Means for Families
Registration alone does not establish that a child has an active Core Funding Agreement or is receiving therapy. The progress report records administrative stages; it does not report therapy hours, privately paid care, other OAP supports, or services outside the OAP.
The World Health Organization says timely access to evidence-based psychosocial interventions can improve communication and social skills. The government progress reports do not publish a province-wide average OAP wait or comparable regional averages. The Ontario Autism Coalition's July 2026 community update provides an invitation-cohort signal, not an official average or individual forecast.
The Funding Gap
Ontario allocated $965M to the OAP in the 2026-27 budget, an increase from $779M the prior year. The Financial Accountability Office's 2020 report estimated $1.35B a year would eliminate the waitlist at 2018–19 service levels for a projected 40,700 registered children. The $965M allocation is $385M below that rounded 2020 scenario, in nominal dollars. It is a historical scenario for a different population and service model, not a current assessment of what is needed.
The Growth Rate Problem
From January 7 to May 13, 2026, OAP registrations increased by an average of approximately 918 new registrations per month. Active Core Funding Agreements increased at a slower measured rate. Over that interval, the number registered without an active agreement increased by an average of approximately 907 children per month. Reusing those rates produces an estimate of approximately 77,612 by December 2026 (straight-line projection if current rates hold) and 88,496 by December 2027 (projection), an ETWO projection, not a government forecast.
To simply stop the waitlist from growing, the province would need to issue new Core Funding Agreements at the same rate children register, approximately 918 per month. To reduce the existing administrative gap within five years while keeping up with new registrations, an illustrative model would require approximately 2,106 new active agreements per month. This is arithmetic based on constant-rate assumptions, not a government delivery plan.
What the Official Number Does Not Count
The 91,974 figure counts only children who have completed an autism diagnosis and registered with the OAP. Several groups are not counted:
- Children awaiting diagnosis. Before a child can register with the OAP, they need an autism diagnosis. Ontario does not publish a province-wide diagnostic waitlist. Freedom-of-information data obtained by The Trillium showed 6,113 children waiting for an assessment at the five provincially funded diagnostic hubs at the end of 2022-23 (reported March 2024). The province-wide total is unknown; the five-hub figure must not be extrapolated to Ontario.
- Children who aged out. Children who turn 18 are no longer eligible for the OAP. The government does not publish how many children aged out of the registered count while lacking an active agreement. The source does not report whether they received services before aging out, so an access outcome cannot be inferred.
- Undiagnosed children. The Public Health Agency of Canada reported an autism prevalence of 1 in 50 children and youth aged 1 to 17 in its 2019 survey. For Ontario, the same survey estimated 2.1% (95% confidence interval 1.9% to 2.4%), which is statistically similar to the national figure. Not all children with autism are diagnosed or registered with the OAP. The number of undiagnosed or unregistered children with autism in Ontario is not tracked.
- Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services: Spending Plan Review (2024). Financial Accountability Office of Ontario (June 5, 2024)
- Ontario Budget 2026 — OAP Allocation. Ontario Ministry of Finance (March 26, 2026)
Sources and methodology.
Primary source (current figures): Ontario Autism Coalition FOI of the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (MCCSS) bi-weekly OAP progress reports. The figures on this page use the May 13, 2026 progress report, the most recent column in that series (91,974 registered / 20,711 funded).
Related investigation: A CBC News Toronto Enterprise Unit FOI investigation, published March 30, 2026 (reporters Nicole Brockbank & Angelina King), obtained 18 months of the same bi-weekly OAP progress reports from MCCSS, covering late June 2024 through early January 2026, and reported the January 7, 2026 column (88,175 registered / 20,666 funded). The newer May 13, 2026 column has since been adopted as the canonical figure. Both point to the same structural pattern: the vast majority of registered children are not funded.
Historical baseline: Financial Accountability Office of Ontario, MCCSS Spending Plan Review, published June 5, 2024. This report provides the 2023–24 figures used for comparison (70,176 registered by the end of 2023–24; 19,966 enrolled in core clinical services as of February 29, 2024).
The "real number" debate: Ontario's Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services uses the term "waitlist" to refer to children registered but without funding. Some advocates argue the true affected population is larger because the registered count excludes children awaiting diagnosis and those who aged out. This page presents both the government's own figures and the data limitations, clearly labelled, without imputing motive.
Measured rate: The displayed monthly changes are derived from the January 7 to May 13, 2026 endpoints: approximately 918 registrations and 11 active funding agreements per month. Any forward projection that reuses those rates is an estimate, not a government forecast.
Reporting and public records behind this page
Explore the interactive data story
Examine the funding split and the limits of the official count.
Frequently Asked Questions
As of May 2026, there are 91,974 children registered in the Ontario Autism Program. Of those, 71,263 children (77.5%) are waiting without a core funding agreement.
The government data does not publish a province-wide average wait. The Ontario Autism Coalition reported in July 2026, using community information, that invitations were reaching children registered in August 2021. That cohort is not a numbered queue position or a province-wide average.
These figures are not in conflict. They measure related groups at different times. The CBC and MCCSS figures come from the same report series, read on different dates. The OAC figure counts children waitlisted for core clinical support and does not state its data date, so it cannot be matched exactly to the others. The newest figure is 71,263 children without an active Core Funding Agreement as of May 13, 2026. The Ontario Autism Coalition's "over 61,000" figure comes from its October 23, 2025 news release. CBC News reported the January 7, 2026 reading: 88,175 registered and 20,666 with funding agreements.
Through the SSAH program (Special Services at Home), families may be eligible for respite funding, though amounts vary by assessed need and this is separate from OAP core clinical funding. Confirm current eligibility and amounts with your local SSAH office or MCCSS.
The 91,974 figure counts children and youth registered with the OAP. It excludes children awaiting an autism diagnosis who cannot yet register. Ontario does not publish a province-wide diagnostic waitlist count. The source also does not publish how many people previously aged out or never entered the diagnostic system.
Primary source: Ontario Autism Coalition FOI of MCCSS bi-weekly OAP progress reports. The current figures (91,974 registered / 20,711 funded) are from the May 13, 2026 progress report. Earlier in the same bi-weekly series, a CBC News Toronto Enterprise Unit FOI investigation (published March 30, 2026, reporters Nicole Brockbank & Angelina King) reported the January 7, 2026 column. Historical context: Financial Accountability Office 2023-24 Spending Plan Review.
A child or youth registered with the OAP has an autism diagnosis and has completed registration. "Without an active agreement" means the progress report did not record a signed, active Core Funding Agreement on the reporting date. It does not establish whether the person receives another OAP service, support outside the OAP, or privately paid care.
Verified references and sources
Official Government Sources
- [2025]2025 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review (Fall Economic Statement)Government of Ontario, Ministry of Finance • Government • 2025-10-30
- [2022]Autism spectrum disorder: Highlights from the 2019 Canadian Health Survey on Children and YouthPublic Health Agency of Canada • Government • 2022-02-01
Watchdog Reports
- [2024]Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services: Spending Plan ReviewFinancial Accountability Office of Ontario (FAO) • Watchdog report • 2024-06-05
FOI Records
- [2026]Ontario Autism Program figures as of May 13, 2026 (MCCSS, released under Freedom of Information to the Ontario Autism Coalition; published in the OAC "OAP At A Glance" update, July 2026)Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services (Ontario), obtained by the Ontario Autism Coalition • FOI record • 2026-05-13
Official Organizations
- [2025]Autism Spectrum Disorders Fact Sheet (updated September 17, 2025)World Health Organization (WHO) • Official • 2025-09-17
News & Media
- [2025]Where Does Ontario Autism Program Funding Actually Go?Healthy Debate • News • 2025-02-10
- [2024]Waitlist for autism assessments at province’s diagnostic hubs up by nearly 3,000 kids in three yearsSneh Duggal, The Trillium (Village Media), from data obtained under freedom of information • News • 2024-03-25
My son was diagnosed with severe, non-verbal autism at 14 months. Like thousands of parents, I was told early intervention was critical. Then, like thousands of parents, I was placed on a waitlist that effectively has no end. Nothing about that is normal. Nothing about that is acceptable.
Spencer Carroll, Founder, End The Wait OntarioMake the numbers count.
The record is public. Use it to ask for an answer, share the evidence, or understand the next step for your family.
Related guides
Guides and tools related to this page.
Claims and sources from this page(2)
How many children are on the Ontario autism waitlist in 2026?
As of May 13, 2026, 91,974 children are registered with the Ontario Autism Program. However, only 20,711 (22.5%) have an active Core Funding Agreement. 71,263 registered children have no active funding agreement. The FAO counted 70,176 registered at the end of 2023-24.
Source: MCCSS FOI via OAC · May 2026 · Open source record
Is the Ontario Autism Program underfunded?
The 2026-27 Ontario Budget allocated $965 million for autism services, up from $779 million in 2025-26, while 91,974 children are registered. The budget record supports the current allocation; the historical FAO funding model is cited separately.
Source: 2026-27 Ontario Budget · Open source record
Sources on this page
The source chain stays visible.
Key claims are paired with their source, evidence tier, and verification date so readers can inspect the public record directly.
91,974
children are registered in the Ontario Autism Program
22.5%
Only 20,711 children have active funding agreements (22.5%), less than one in four
$965M
Ontario allocated $965M to the Ontario Autism Program in 2026-27
WHO recommends accessible, community-based early interventions for children with autism. Timely evidence-based psychosocial interventions improve communication and social engagement
1 in 50
According to the 2019 Canadian Health Survey on Children and Youth, about 1 in 50 children and youth aged 1 to 17 in Canada had an autism diagnosis
The FAO estimated $1.35 billion in annual OAP need at 2018-19 service levels for approximately 40,700 children in its 2020 report
About this page
Check the author’s context, review method, and how to report an error.